Bella Burrelli

Neshannock's Bella Burrelli controls the ball during the WPIAL Class 3A championship game on Saturday.

Neshannock made history this season when it claimed the program’s first WPIAL girls basketball title.

The Lady Lancers wrapped up another Section 1-3A title in the process, too.

Neshannock’s Bella Burrelli and Neleh Nogay were driving forces in the team’s success and both earned all-section honors as well. Mohawk’s Nadia Lape, Beaver’s Emma Pavelek and Avonworth’s Hayden Robinson joined them on the first team.


Burrelli earned section MVP honors for a third year in a row. One of the most-successful players in program history, the senior forward averaged 16.4 points per game. She finished with 325 rebounds, 109 steals and 96 blocks on the year. For her career, Burrelli totaled 1,440 points and 886 rebounds.

Only a freshman, Nogay made her presence known. The guard averaged 12.7 points per game. She added 91 steals, 79 assists and 51 rebounds.

Lady Lancers head coach Luann Grybowski was named the section’s coach of the year for the third season in a row, too. She helped guide Neshannock to a 25-3 record this season. The Lady Lancers beat Washington, Avonworth and Shady Side Academy to claim the WPIAL title. They opened the PIAA tournament with wins over Tyrone and Avonworth, but fell to Delone Catholic, 50-41, in the quarterfinals.

Grybowski upped her record to 655-292 in 39 overall seasons. She is 181-68 in 10 years at Neshannock. She is the third girls coach in WPIAL history to reach 600 wins.


Injuries derailed the Lady Warriors’ season as they finished tied for fourth in the section with a 6-8 record.

Lape’s play helped the team reach the WPIAL playoffs, but Mohawk fell to Washington, 58-45, in the first round to finish at 7-16. A sophomore, Lape averaged 13.0 points and 4.0 rebounds per game. She added 34 steals and 34 assists on the season.

No Ellwood City Lincoln players were named to the first team. The Lady Wolverines finished tied with Mohawk in the section at 6-8. They reached the WPIAL playoffs, but dropped a 44-39 decision to Carlynton to finish 13-10 overall.



Bella Burrelli (Neshannock), Sr.; Neleh Nogay (Neshannock), Fr.; Nadia Lape (Mohawk), Soph.; Emma Pavelek (Beaver), Soph.; Hayden Robinson (Avonworth), Sr.


Ellina DeLillo (Neshannock), Jr.; Brie Dean (Neshannock), Sr.; Natalia Greco (Ellwood City), Sr.; Paige Julian (Mohawk), Jr.; Maggie Goetz (Avonworth), Fr.


Kaylee George (Neshannock), Jr.; Marley Wolf (Riverside), Jr.; Isabella Roth (Ellwood City), Sr.; Harris Robinson (Avonworth), Soph.; Payton List (Beaver), Fr.; Kenzie Weiland (Beaver), Soph.; Macyla Collins (Beaver Falls), Soph.

MVP: Bella Burrelli (Neshannock)

Coach of the Year: Luann Grybowski (Neshannock)

*Balloting was conducted by section coaches, who named first and second teams and honorable mention picks.

Lawrence County basketball section all-stars

Read all the WPIAL, District 10 basketball all-stars stories here

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.