New Castle News

Closer Look

November 6, 2013

Election 2013: Borough voters pick mayors, councils

NEW CASTLE — Voters elected candidates for borough offices Tuesday.

In each of the 10 boroughs, voters elected mayors and four members to borough council.

The exceptions were Ellport, which elected three to council, and SNPJ and South New Castle, which elected two apiece.

Voters also voted for tax collectors in each borough and for auditors in three boroughs.

In the Ellwood City mayor and council races, the figures include votes from Beaver County.

Following are the unofficial results, with the winners in boldface.



Raymond O. Penwell, Republican/Democrat, 134 votes


Luanne Izzo, Republican, 83 votes

Art VanTassel, Republican/Democrat, 117 votes

Ryan C. Ray, Democrat, 90 votes

Bradley J. McKenna, Democrat, 93 votes

Tax collector

Phyllis G. Retort, Democrat, 134 votes



Joseph Cisco, Democrat, 118 votes


Frank J. Ritorto Jr., Democrat, 127 votes

Bill A. Boy, Democrat, 116 votes

Christopher Cioffi, Democrat, 108 votes

Tax collector

Rita Ann Foley, Democrat, 142 votes



Anthony J. Court, Republican/Democrat, 1,283 votes


George J. Celli, Republican, 641 votes

Connie R. MacDonald, Republican, 730 votes

David DeCaria, Republican, 705 votes

Mike Capalbo, Republican, 464 votes

Michele Lamenza, Democrat, 720 votes

Brad Ovial, Democrat, 656 votes

Anthony DeCarbo, Democrat, 560 votes

Judith S. Dici, Democrat, 603 votes

Tax collector

Mary Ann Portugallo, Republican, 693 votes

Linda Battaglia, Democrat, 630 votes



Florence R. Braden, Republican, 40 votes


Timothy C. Stear Sr., Republican, 28 votes

Tyrone W. Petrich, Democrat, 26 votes

Margaret R. Huston, Democrat, 25 votes

Tax collector

Veronica A. Dombrosky, Democrat, 30 votes



Michael Swanik Jr., Republican, 115 votes


Thomas E. Hairhoger, Republican, 114 votes

Joseph Gubish, Republican, 112 votes

Matthew Kingman, Republican, 105 votes

Paul A. Morrison, Republican, 103 votes

Tax collector

Margaret Wise Main, Democrat, 108 votes



Sherie E. Babb, Republican, 252 votes


Renee N. Hartwell, Republican, 216 votes

William L. Johnson, Republican, 209 votes

Corey S. Kendall, Republican, 199 votes

Susan J. Ligo, Republican/Democrat, 222 votes

Tax collector

Patricia A. Hanna, Republican, 269 votes



Ray Eckles, Democrat, 6 votes

Tax collector

Karen S. Magnone, Republican/Democrat, 6 votes



John L. Kline, Democrat, 42 votes


Harry Pallott, Democrat, 54 votes

Tax collector

Jolene A. Thompson, Democrat, 56 votes



John Wayne Edwards, Republican, 16 votes

Tony Bevilacqua, Republican, 16 votes

Robert E. McGary, Democrat, 17 votes

Donald L. Little, Independent, 9 votes



Jeff Steffler, Republican/Democrat, 157 votes


James Ferrante, Republican/Democrat, 113 votes

Brian Allen, Republican/Democrat,110 votes

Chuck Kelly, Republican, 92 votes

Chad R. Blontz, Republican/Democrat, 93 votes

Jackie Nativio Fisher, Democrat, 100 votes

Tax collector

Sue Dean, Republican/Democrat, 155 votes.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Closer Look
  • phone.jpg Attorney general warns of phone scams

    Assorted scams in the commonwealth have prompted a warning from the Pennsylvania Attorney General’s Office. Attorney General Kathleen G. Kane said several scams have been reported to the Bureau of Consumer Protection in recent weeks.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • disability.jpg Disabilities group unveils new icon

    Disability Options Network is joining forces with the Accessible Icon Project. Officials of the community organization, located at 1929 E. Washington St., said its new icon will replace the current international symbol for accessibility.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • well.jpg Auditor: State doesn’t have enough inspectors to monitor wells

    The state’s 83 well inspectors face a daunting enough challenge keeping tabs on 120,000 active oil and gas wells that have been drilled over the last century.


    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • vote.jpg Independent hopefuls may widen gubernatorial field

    Just when Pennsylvania voters were getting used to the idea of a gubernatorial election showdown between Republican incumbent Tom Corbett and Democratic challenger Tom Wolf, other hopefuls may soon be joining the fray.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • manna.jpg John K. Manna: Measuring the money

    Should we even bother to have an election in November? By some accounts, maybe the results of some contests are already in.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • shooting.jpg Man injured in city shooting

    A man was flown to a Pittsburgh hospital Thursday morning following a shooting on West Lincoln Avenue.


    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • police.jpg Police: Man pulls gun on construction workers

    Construction workers in Neshannock Township flagged down police Thursday claiming a business owner had pulled a gun on them.


    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Shooting.jpg Shooting witness arrested for giving false name

    State police have arrested a second Detroit area man after questioning him about Sunday’s fatal shooting in Ellwood City. DeMarco Dorian Hoskins, 22, of Highland Park, Mich., was the third man in a private car that transported the deceased to look for a hospital. Hoskins allegedly gave police a false identity when they questioned him as witness.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • bridgerepair.jpg PennDOT seeks outside help to make bridge repairs

    State officials are poised to sign a massive deal that will enlist outside help to rebuild and maintain up to 600 bridges, marking the Corbett administration’s latest foray into privatizing key government functions.


    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • GALLO_Natalie.jpg County native plays Clinton intern

    Natalie Gallo isn’t an intern, but she’s playing one on the New York stage.


    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content
Section Teases
Must Read
Continuous Super Bowl Coverage