New Castle News

July 20, 2013

McGrath to preside over South New Castle

By Staff
New Castle News

NEW CASTLE — The realignment of magisterial districts in Lawrence County will include a designation for South New Castle Borough.

A March 12 ruling from the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania called for the elimination of the magisterial district of Judge David B. Rishel.

Another ruling July 3 affirmed that South New Castle will fall into the district of 53-3-04, that of District Judge Scott McGrath.

The changes will take place in 2018, which is at the end of Rishel’s existing term.

The initial order reduces the number of magisterial districts from five to four.

Rishel’s district is being reapportioned and McGrath will have jurisdiction over Shenango, Hickory, Plain Grove, Scott and Washington townships and South New Castle borough.

Slippery Rock Township will be assigned to District Judge Jerry G. Cartwright.