New Castle News

November 6, 2013

City Council Election 2013: Adamo top vote-getter

By Staff
New Castle News

NEW CASTLE — Anthony J. Adamo led all candidates for New Castle City Council in Tuesday’s election.

In doing so, the Democratic candidate won election to two terms, one for four years and the other for two years.

He will have to decide which one he prefers, but said this week that he would probably accept the four-year term.

Fellow Democrat and former mayor Tim Fulkerson won the other council seat for a four-year term.

Adamo received 1,463 votes for the four-year term. Fulkerson had 1,409 votes. Rosemary Henderson, the lone Republican candidate seeking a four-year term, had 895 votes.

For the two-year term, Adamo had 1,386 votes. Republican William Schafer received 892 votes.

After Adamo officially decides which term he wants to accept, a vacancy will exist on council in January. After Jan. 1, the four council members will vote to fill the vacancy. Adamo and Fulkerson, Richard Beshero and William Panella will be making the decision.

Fulkerson and Adamo beat out three other candidates for the party’s nomination for the four-year term in the May primary, including council president MaryAnne Gavrile and Councilman Thomas Smith. Gavrile and Smith also lost bids for the party’s nomination for the two-year term.