New Castle News

March 13, 2013

County, city candidates file petitions

John K. Manna
New Castle News

NEW CASTLE — Three Lawrence County row officers face no opposition in their bids for re-election this year.

The same cannot be said for New Castle City Council, where 13 people are running for three posts.

Yesterday was the deadline for candidates to file nomination petitions for the May 21 primary.

District Attorney Joshua Lamancusa, Sheriff Perry Quahliero and Register and Recorder Janet Kalajainen, all Democrats, were the only candidates to file nomination petitions for their respective offices.

Lamancusa is seeking his second term, Quahliero his third and Kalajainen her ninth. All three are running for four-year terms.

District Judges Melissa A. Amodie and Scott A. McGrath are unopposed in their bids for six-year terms. The two filed to be on both Republican and Democratic ballots in the primary.

Amodie’s district covers most of New Castle and McGrath’s covers the northern part of the county.

In the race for city council, 12 of the candidates are running for both two- and four-year terms. Two people will be elected to four-year terms and one to a two-year term.

Running on the Democratic side are Councilwoman MaryAnne Gavrile, current council president; Councilman Thomas Smith, former Mayor Tim Fulkerson, James Lombardo, Maria Pitinokakis, Anthony Adamo, Charles Farris Jr. and Michael Caruso.

Candidates on the Republican ballot are Rosemary Henderson, Lawrence J. Williams, Gerald Anastasia, Thomas Ewen and William Schafer.

Schafer, former Republican county chairman, is the lone candidate running for a two-year term.

Smith was appointed by council last year to serve through the end of this year after a Lawrence County common pleas judge ruled that Gary Mitchell was prohibited from serving on council because he previously had been convicted of felonies.

Pennsylvania’s constitution prohibits people convicted of infamous crimes from holding office. The state Supreme Court has defined a felony as an infamous crime.

Mitchell was one of three council candidates elected to four-year terms in November 2011.

Councilman Ed Yerage is not seeking re-election.

City Treasurer Joseph Cardella, a Democrat, is unopposed for re-election to a fourth four-year term.

The New Castle News will list candidates for township, borough and school board offices later this week.