New Castle News

Closer Look

June 20, 2014

Christofer re–elected Democratic chairman

NEW CASTLE — Richard Christofer withstood some competition to win re-election as chairman of the Lawrence County Democratic Party.

He defeated Richard Galiano of Neshannock Township by a 62-25 roll call vote Wednesday to win a four-year term.

The meeting took place at the Moose Club on South Mercer Street in New Castle.

Christofer has served as chairman since March 2007, when he was elected to succeed longtime chairman Peter A. Vessella, who had died the previous month.

A total of 107 county committee members were eligible to vote, but only 88 people signed in, Christofer said. One person left before the voting, he added.

The other three party offices were filled without opposition.

Michele Lamenza was elected vice chairman, succeeding Madeline Rice; Michelle Joseph was elected secretary, succeeding Julie DeLillo; and Chris Lloyd was re–elected treasurer.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Closer Look
House Ads
Seasonal Content
Section Teases
Must Read
Continuous Super Bowl Coverage