New Castle News

December 16, 2013

State OKs election district changes

John K. Manna
New Castle News

NEW CASTLE — The Pennsylvania Department of State has approved Lawrence County’ plan to realign election districts.

County elections director Ed Allison said the department gave its approval this week, thus giving the county the go-ahead to implement the plan.

The Lawrence County Board of Elections and the Lawrence County Court of Common Pleas previously approved the changes.

The plan, which consolidates some districts and adds others, will take effect for the May 20 primary election.

Changes will be made in nine municipalities resulting in a net reduction of election districts in the county from 79 to 75.

Allison said new voter registration cards listing poll locations will be mailed to all affected voters before the primary.

The map was redrawn to bring voter registration rolls in compliance with the state election code. The code requires precincts to have no fewer than 300 voters and no more than 1,200 voters. With the changes, all districts will be below the maximum number.

Following are the changes:

•New Castle will lose one district in the Sixth Ward.

•Neshannock, Scott and Shenango townships will each gain a district.

•North Beaver and Wayne townships will each lose two districts.

•Mahoning and Slippery Rock townships will each lose one district.

•Union Township will continue to have four districts, but boundaries will be shifted to shrink the two larger districts.