New Castle News

New Castle

March 27, 2013

New Castle scores big at science academy

NEW CASTLE — New Castle High School junior John Maas was a big winner at the state Junior Academy of Science regional competition.

New Castle students overall took the most top honors at this year’s event at Slippery Rock University with 36 first places and five special awards.

Maas won a $12,000 scholarship — $3,000 each year for four years at the university — for having had the best 11th-grade project among all the entries.

He also received the director award for the best computer science project and was the “Innovation Award” winner of $100.

His project was titled “Bridging the Dimensional Gap.” His school sponsor was William Bradley.

The Academy of Science is the state science fair and competition where a student designs an independent science project by forming a hypothesis, collecting data, analyzing results and drawing conclusions.

Each student then presents his or her project to a panel of adult judges.

A total of 385 students from 42 schools competed from Lawrence County and the surrounding eight counties that comprise Region IX.

New Castle had the most first-place finishers at this year’s regional competition and the most students from any school, public or private, in Pennsylvania.

About 3,200 first-place winners from 650 public and private schools, including the 36 winners from New Castle, will compete in the state academy at Penn State University in May.

In addition to Maas’ two awards, these students won special awards:

•Deanna Dailey — Director award for best senior high zoology project

•Christopher Ball — Director award for best behavioral science project

•Matt Magliocca — Future Teacher Award winner of $100.

New Castle’s first-place finishers were: Caitlin Adamo, Christopher Ball, Jacob Bromley, Jared Budai, Araycia Byers, Thomas Corwin, Deanna Dailey, Natalie DeVincentis, Carley DiPietro, George Dudich, Levi Green, Hannah Grippo, Rebecca Grossi, Andrew Gonzalez, Brady Haering, Kordell Hawkins, Taylor Heasley, Ben Kotch, McKenzie Kobbe, Zach Logan, Cassandra Maas, Dakota McFall, Joe Monaco, Cody Papa, Michelle Pfahles, Gino Quahliero, Kiara Recchione, Dana Rhodes, James Shaffer, Cody Snyder, Steven Wethli, Tyler Williams, Michael Yeropoli and Nathaniel Zeiger.

Second place finishers were Hunter Ferchaw, Micah Fulena, McKenzie Gould, Erica Harter, Ava Jevcak, Matthew Magliocca, Rachel McNickle, Michaelyn Norco, Ethan Green, Maria Gleixner, Joshua Gunn, Christian Italia, Maddison Mitchell, Andrew Mundekis, Tabitha Rouzzo, Zach Senchak, Nick Shoup, Spencer Trodden.

Teacher sponsors for the New Castle students were Bill Bradley, Russ Carley, Chadd Quimby, Suzette Senchak and Leah Ann Williams.

“As always, it was exciting to have more than 400 junior high and high school science students on campus for the day presenting their science research and competing for the prizes,” said William Sigmund, SRU professor of biology and campus coordinator for the regional meeting.

The judge panels included college professors, high school teachers, people in business and medical professions in the disciplines and college students.

Slippery Rock University has been hosting the event for 16 years.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
New Castle
House Ads

Summer is a perfect time for a good read. Where's your favorite place to spend off time with your nose in a book?

Relaxing on the couch
On a bench in the park
By the pool
At the closest beach
I don't have time to read
     View Results