New Castle News

January 2, 2014

School district reorganizations

By Staff
New Castle News

NEW CASTLE — Here are the people who will be leading your school districts in 2014.



501 Crescent Ave.

(724) 752-1591

Superintendent: Frank Aloi

Assistant superintendent: Joseph Mancini

High school principal: Kirk Lape

Assistant high school principals: John Sovich, Mark Frengel

Elementary principals: Christine Gibson, Frank Keally

Board president: Anthony Buzzelli

Vice president: Michael Neupauer

Other members: Renee Pitrelli, Matthew Morella, Leroy J. Cortez, George Garda, Jennifer J. Grossman, Kathleen A. Pansera and Robert R. Stevenson

MEETINGS: 7 p.m. on the second Thursday in the high school board room. Committee-of-the-whole work sessions are at 7 p.m. on the Mondays preceding the regular meetings.


2497 Harlansburg Road

(724) 658-8940

Superintendent: Dr. Sandra Hennon

Principals: Kevin Mahoney and Daniel Svirbly

Board president: Timothy Redfoot

Vice president: Justin Kirkwood

Other members: Christopher Donegan, Jeff Hammerschmidt, Lance Nimmo, Kevin Patterson, Steven Sickafuse, David Smith and Earl Williams

MEETINGS: 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday in the board conference room with the following exceptions: June 17, July 15 and Dec. 2. Committee-of-the-whole work sessions will be at 7 p.m. in the conference room on the Wednesdays preceding the regular meeting. There will be no committee-of-the-whole work sessions in July or December.


385 Mohawk

School Road

(724) 667-7782

Superintendent: Kathleen Kwolek

Assistant superintendent: Lorree Houk

Principals: Raymond Omer, high school; Greg Ferencak, assistant high school; Brad Meehan, elementary; George Sperdute, assistant elementary

Board president: Ted Morrow

Vice president: Mark Hiler

Other members: Eugene A. Butch Jr., James Capalbo, Stephen Cardella, Harry Curatola, Lori Griffin, Jonathan Laughner and Scott Singer

MEETINGS: 8 p.m. on the second Monday of each month, committee-of-the-whole meetings are 7:30 p.m. on the first Monday. Both meet in the board room at the high school. Exceptions include the board and committee meeting rescheduled for Jan. 13 and 20, June meeting on the 16th because of the 30-day window required for budget review. No meetings are scheduled for July. The Oct. 14 and the Dec. 8 meeting will begin at 6 p.m.


3834 Mitchell Road

(724) 658-4793

Superintendent: Dr. Mary Todora

Principals: Luca Passerelli, high school; Dr. Tracy McCalla, junior high; Matthew Heasley, elementary

Board president: Karen Houk

Vice president: James McFarland,

Other members: David Antuono, P.J. Copple, Mark A. Hasson, Richard A. Loudon, Amy Na, Cathy Snyder and Jay Vitale.

MEETINGS: 7 p.m., generally on the second Thursday of every month, with committee-of-the-whole meetings at 7 p.m. on Mondays prior to the board meeting. Both are in the board meeting room at the high school. Exceptions are July, when both the committee-of-the-whole and business meeting will be July 14, and December, when meetings will be on Dec. 2 and 4.


420 Fern St.

(724) 656-4771

Superintendent: John J. Sarandrea

Assistant to the superintendent: Terence P. Meehan (temporarily)

High school principal: Richard Litrenta

Intermediate school principal: Joseph Anderson

Principals: Dr. Carmen Nocera, West Side and John F. Kennedy primary centers; Debra DeBlasio, Thaddeus Stevens and Harry W. Lockley primary centers; Terence P. Meehan (temporarily), Croton pre-kindergarten

Board president: Stacey M. Fleo

Vice president: Karen Humphrey

Other members: Dr. Marilyn K. Berkely, David D. DiGiammarino, Stephen M. Fornataro, George J. Gabriel, Mark A. Kirkwood, Mark A. Panella and Barbara A. Razzano

Meetings: Regular meetings will be at 6:30 p.m. the second Monday of each month. Committee-of-the-whole meetings will be at 6 p.m. the first Monday of each month.


2501 Old Pittsburgh Road

(724) 658-7287

Superintendent: Dr. Michael Schreck

High school principal: Joe McCormick

Assistant high school principal: Al Dorsch

Elementary principal: Adam Vincent

Board president: Albert Burick Jr.

Vice president: Merle Glass

Other members: Randy Angelucci, Sam Biasucci, Joseph Gaus, Nicholas Manolis, Ronald Martin, Denise Palkovich and J. Gary Senko

MEETINGS: 7 p.m. on the second Monday in the elementary school library with the following exceptions: July 14, Sept. 15 and Oct. 20 all at 8 p.m. Committee-of-the-whole work sessions will be at 7 p.m. on the first Monday in the library, with the following exceptions: July 14, Sept. 8 and Oct. 20.


2106 Camden Ave.

(724) 658-4501

Superintendent: Dr. Alfonso Angelucci

Middle/high school principal: Michael Ross

Elementary principal: Linda O’Neill

Board president: John Bertolino

Vice president: Debra Allebach

Other board members: Arin Biondi, Donald Friend, Samuel Marino, Carmen Merolillo, Michelle Morelli, Robert Mrozek and John Pacella

MEETINGS: 6:30 p.m. on the third Wednesday. Committee-of-the-whole meetings are at 7 p.m. on the second Wednesday. All meetings are in the board room in the high school. There is no meeting in July.


300 Wood St.

(724) 656-8866

Superintendent: Dr. Michelle Miller

High school principals: Benjamin Fennick, Robert Kwiat

Elementary principals: George Endrizzi, Kenneth Jewell

Board president: Dr. Bo DiMuccio

Vice president: William W. Taylor

Other members: Robert Curry, Lynn Foltz, Carol Harris, Jennifer Hunt, Joseph Kollar, Autumn Miller and Kathryn Riley

MEETINGS: 7 p.m. on the third Monday in the middle school library. Committee-of-the-whole meetings are at 7 p.m. on the second Monday in the middle school library or conference room.




750 Phelps Way

(724) 658-3583

Chief school administrator: Dr. Alfonso Angelucci

Director of vocational education: Leonard Rich

Board chairman: Debra Allebach

Vice chairman: James McFarland

Other board members: Leroy Cortez, Robert Curry, David DiGiammarino, Stephen Fornataro, Jennifer Grossman, Jeff Hammerschmidt, Mark Kirkwood, Denise Palkovich, Mark Panella and Scott Singer

meetings: 6:30 p.m. the third Thursday of each month. There will be no meeting in July.