New Castle News

Local News

January 2, 2014

School district reorganizations

NEW CASTLE — Here are the people who will be leading your school districts in 2014.



501 Crescent Ave.

(724) 752-1591

Superintendent: Frank Aloi

Assistant superintendent: Joseph Mancini

High school principal: Kirk Lape

Assistant high school principals: John Sovich, Mark Frengel

Elementary principals: Christine Gibson, Frank Keally

Board president: Anthony Buzzelli

Vice president: Michael Neupauer

Other members: Renee Pitrelli, Matthew Morella, Leroy J. Cortez, George Garda, Jennifer J. Grossman, Kathleen A. Pansera and Robert R. Stevenson

MEETINGS: 7 p.m. on the second Thursday in the high school board room. Committee-of-the-whole work sessions are at 7 p.m. on the Mondays preceding the regular meetings.


2497 Harlansburg Road

(724) 658-8940

Superintendent: Dr. Sandra Hennon

Principals: Kevin Mahoney and Daniel Svirbly

Board president: Timothy Redfoot

Vice president: Justin Kirkwood

Other members: Christopher Donegan, Jeff Hammerschmidt, Lance Nimmo, Kevin Patterson, Steven Sickafuse, David Smith and Earl Williams

MEETINGS: 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday in the board conference room with the following exceptions: June 17, July 15 and Dec. 2. Committee-of-the-whole work sessions will be at 7 p.m. in the conference room on the Wednesdays preceding the regular meeting. There will be no committee-of-the-whole work sessions in July or December.


385 Mohawk

School Road

(724) 667-7782

Superintendent: Kathleen Kwolek

Assistant superintendent: Lorree Houk

Principals: Raymond Omer, high school; Greg Ferencak, assistant high school; Brad Meehan, elementary; George Sperdute, assistant elementary

Board president: Ted Morrow

Vice president: Mark Hiler

Other members: Eugene A. Butch Jr., James Capalbo, Stephen Cardella, Harry Curatola, Lori Griffin, Jonathan Laughner and Scott Singer

MEETINGS: 8 p.m. on the second Monday of each month, committee-of-the-whole meetings are 7:30 p.m. on the first Monday. Both meet in the board room at the high school. Exceptions include the board and committee meeting rescheduled for Jan. 13 and 20, June meeting on the 16th because of the 30-day window required for budget review. No meetings are scheduled for July. The Oct. 14 and the Dec. 8 meeting will begin at 6 p.m.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News
  • Author.tiff Arthur the author: Children’s writer/illustrator visits Neshannock Elementary

    A story about a grandmother and her granddaughter flying over a city grew from the vivid imagination of children’s author Arthur Dorros. “Abuela” also spurred the creativity of students at Neshannock Memorial Elementary School who had eagerly awaited a visit from Dorros yesterday.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Greer House changes name

    Greer House, a provider of assisted living services and care to seniors, has unveiled its new name. “We are thrilled about our new name — Clen-Moore Place,” said executive director Susan Leise, “because it better reflects our commitment to provide a vibrant environment where our residents thrive each and every day.

    April 16, 2014

  • Huston.jpg Greg Huston: Pirates pitching is porous and LeBron’s a phony

    The Buccos got swept this past weekend in their own personal house of horrors, otherwise known as Miller Park in Milwaukee. The Pirates will hover around .500 this year mainly because they do have some stars in Marte, McCutchen and Alvarez, and they play the right way with grit.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • 01.jpg Photo Gallery, Story: Students team up on paper pantry

    Food is not the only thing that sometimes is in short supply for those in need. With that in mind, students from seven Lawrence County high schools joined Westminster College sororities and fraternities Saturday in preparing a paper pantry for local residents.

    April 14, 2014 8 Photos

  • school.jpg Neshannock approves resignation, agreement, related legal fees

    The Neshannock school board accepted the resignation of business manager and board secretary Melissa Morosky Thursday. Morosky’s resignation is effective Wednesday.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Solomon to head Warner advisers

    The Historic Warner Cascade Theatre has named Nanette Kaplan Solomon chairwoman of the board of advisers. Solomon is a New Castle resident and professor of piano at Slippery Rock University.

    April 12, 2014

  • Consultant hired for downtown riverwalk

    The city of New Castle has hired a consultant to plan a pedestrian riverwalk in the downtown. Council awarded a contract for $30,000 to Macking Engineering Co. of Pittsburgh on Thursday.

    April 12, 2014

  • New Visions slates downtown meetings

    The New Visions Clean and Green Action Team will meet at 6 p.m. Monday at the Confluence downtown. The Earth Day event in downtown New Castle April 26 will be discussed.

    April 12, 2014

  • money.jpg County seeks grant to plan for park upgrades

    A plan for upgrading six parks in Lawrence County hinges on a state grant. The commissioners Tuesday approved an application to the Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources for matching greenways funds to create master plans for the parks, a venture estimated to cost $239,600.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Mooney.jpg Mooney named as recipient of Butz Humanitarian award

    Anna Mary Mooney, a volunteer for several community organizations, will receive the 2014 Butz Humanitarian Award. Mooney will be honored at a dinner April 22 at The Villa in Shenango Township. She is the 15th person to receive the award, named after the original recipient, Jack Butz.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo