New Castle News

February 11, 2013

Photo Gallery, Story: County residents claim state farm show honors

Debbie Wachter
New Castle News

NEW CASTLE — Lawrence County farmers, square dance teams and FFA members who attended the Pennsylvania Farm Show last month returned with honors.

The week-long event took place at the state farm show complex in Harrisburg. Dozens of Lawrence County residents traveled to Harrisburg to compete or cheer on participants.

The results are as follows:

•Shane Clark of Enon Valley exhibited the grand champion Limousin heifer named Valentine. The reserve champion Limousin heifer was shown by Dylan Clark of Enon Valley.

 Ed Nicol of Enon Valley exhibited the premier Limousin and was the premier Limousin breeder at the show.

•Jeff Pennington of New Castle, was named as one of the top 10 auctioneers for a final round in the 34th Pennsylvania Auctioneers Association bid calling contest. Contestants were judged on voice timbre, microphone control, knowledge of products being sold and timing of calling out bids.

•State Sen. Elder Vogel of Beaver County, whose legislative district includes part of Lawrence County, placed eighth in the celebrity draft horse driving contest. His sponsor was the Pennsylvania Farm Bureau. The object was to drive a draft horse team through an obstacle course while being timed.


 Three Lawrence County FFA teams competed at the farm show from Mohawk and Wilmington Area and Laurel high schools.

 Mohawk’s FFA, with advisor Cliff Wallace, placed first in the state with a demonstration on heating and cooling with geothermal energy.

A geothermal system uses groundwater to efficiently heat and cool the home with minimal electricity. A local heating contractor and two well companies located in the school district provided the team with information for its presentation.

Its team members are Cara Trotter, Trent Whittaker, Scott Relic, Randy Pauline, and Katherine Harding.

The Wilmington Area FFA demonstration team, under the advisorship of Joanna McKelvey, placed ninth with instructions on how to make homemade ice cream. The team members are Jackie Thompson, Gaige Maitland, Josh Schibik, Jacob Schooley and Autumn Lilley.

Laurel High School’s FFA team placed 14th overall, showing how to use a solar oven to prepare food. Team members are Rhonda Mitcheltree, Shelby Dean, Mark Pizor, Justin Kennedy, and Rebecca Jones. The advisor is Randy Harrold.


Several FFA students in the three school districts also were awarded their Keystone Farmer degrees at the show. Only about 4 percent of all Pennsylvania FFA members receive Keystone Degrees. In order to receive them, FFA members must keep accurate records for two years and demonstrate high leadership skills.

The recipients are:

•Laurel — Aubrey Gibson, Amanda Lubich, Jessica Jones, Marissa Lubinski, Ethan Wilson, Dalton Valenti, Devin Miller and Justina Chin.

Eight students were FFA jacket recipients. They are Jake

Cahall, Jaymie Conrad, Brady Crawford, Lucas Drake, Brittany Kendall, Scott Siddall, Jorden Streckeisen and Nicole Wade.

•Mohawk — Cara Trotter and Sam Clark received the state Keystone Degrees. Dylan Clark received an FFA jacket courtesy of the FFA Alumni Association.

•Wilmington — Brandon Ryder, Morgan Urban, Lauren Slick, Jamie Phillips, Zack McCluskey, Shawn Homes, Autumn Lilly, Mackenzie Dess, Devin Sharek and Lauren Martin.

 Brian and Tammy Dess were recognized with a citation award. Mackenzie Dess is the fifth child in the Dess family to receive the Keystone Degree.


 •Wilmington —Two teams won blue ribbons. They are the Queens and Jokers, consisting of members Anna Miller, Samantha Foy, Lauren Slick, Ashlynn Wagner, Alan Wilson, Jon Yohman, Aaron Sankey, Chris Welch and Mitchell Whiting, and the Crazy Eights, which include Morgan Urban, Jessica Schlumberger, Shelby Ratvasky, Veronica Gathers, Madeline Whiting, Scott Snyder, Zack McCluskey, Clayton Styer, Jimmy Braho and Zane Slick.

•Mohawk — The Merry Mohawks square dance team also won a blue ribbon. Its members are Hanna Rohrmann, Hope Rohrmann, Mallorie Shiderly, Madison Shiderly, Megan Shiderly, Anna Hostetter, Brandon Raney, Dan Cowher, Corbin Rohrmann, Chris Lindsey, Anthony Romano, and Dylan Clark.

•Laurel — The square dance team placed second in the competition. Members are Marissa Lubinski, Devin Miller, Kaitlyn Lantz, Philip Richards, Justina Chin, Dalton Valenti, Sarah Little, and Derek Boak.